Jannik Sinner and Novak Djokovic are named to the Davis Cup Final Eight teams.

The final eight teams competing in the 2023 Davis Cup have revealed their lineups for the knockout stage in Malaga, Spain, which takes place next month. Some of the biggest names in the sport will compete for the title of 2023 world champions.

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic will head a Serbian squad hoping to win a second Davis Cup victory; other players competing at the Palacio de Deportes José María Martín Carpena are Jannik Sinner (Italy), Alex de Minaur (Australia), and Cameron Norrie (Great Britain).

Felix Auger-Aliassime, ranked 19th in the world, has rejoined the defending world champions Canada together with Gabriel Diallo, Alexis Galarneau, and Vasek Pospisil. In September, the Canadians won Group A in Bologna. Having struggled with injuries in recent seasons, Milos Raonic, a former Wimbledon runner-up, has also been included in the Canadian roster. He may make his first Davis Cup play since 2018.

Davis Cup Finals Stage

On Tuesday, November 21, the Canadians will play their first-ever Davis Cup quarterfinal against Finland, who have selected the same team that came in second to the Netherlands in Group D in Split last month. This is the opening match of the week. The Finnish team in Malaga will be led by world No. 67 Emil Ruusuvuori, who has won five of his six Davis Cup matches this year.

Australia, the runners-up in 2022, and the Czech Republic, led by Jiri Lehecka and De Minaur, respectively, have picked squads that are identical to those from September’s Finals Group Stage for their second quarterfinal match on Wednesday, November 22.

World No. 4 Sinner, who was injured during the Davis Cup Finals Group Stage, will be back in play for Italy against the Netherlands on Thursday, November 23, in the Davis Cup quarterfinal. Tallon Griekspoor, ranked 25th in the world, leads the Dutch team, which also includes doubles world No. 3 Wesley Koolhof in the squad captained by Paul Haarhuis.

2023 Davis Cup Final 8 schedule

Tuesday 21 November, 1600 CET – Canada v Finland
Wednesday 22 November, 1600 CET – Czech Republic v Australia
Thursday 23 November, 1000 CET – Italy v Netherlands
Thursday 23 November, not before 1600 CET – Serbia v Great Britain

Friday 24 November, 1600 CET – Canada or Finland v Czech Republic or Australia
Saturday 25 November, 1200 CET – Italy or Netherlands v Serbia or Great Britain

Davis Cup final
Sunday 26 November, 1600 CET – Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2

Leave a Comment